There were bits where Kurosawa was all 'eff editing, I don't need that bullshit' and just kind of forgot to cut some scenes together properly; and even though I way love editing, it's lack didn't matter here see because it was all about the stories of all these people in this horrible squalor village that seemed to be in the middle of a garbage dump and they were living there and it was so painful with only bits of nice but oh lots of worthwhile.
Wednesday, April 14, 2010
Dodesukaden
Kurosawa, gaiz. Jared and I went to see this film, gaiz. (Poor Cass was indisposed). We walked there from Ultimo, which took about forty-five minutes of slow walking, if you want to know. It was a nice walk. And then after the walk there was this film, which was maybe even better! I had to stop myself from crying approximately the whole time. Except for the beginning, which was a little old style slapstick influenced -- which was a strange tension the whole way through, between Western/modern world things and an uncertain Japan. At least I thought that was pretty much the major theme in it because of things which I don't want to go into because I don't want to spoil it for you because YOU WILL SEE IT. It's not even your decision, gaiz.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
this sounds quite excellent and maybe now i will someday watch a film. maybe even this one. thanks kris!
ReplyDelete